The Local Area

“A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence.”
Jim Watkins

Wythe County

Wytheville (pronounced WITH-ville), while technically not in The New River Valley, has a rich history, one that began in 1792 as a town called Evansham. Ultimately renamed in honor of George Wythe, the first signer of the Declaration of Independence for Virginia, it was selected as the county seat of Wythe County in 1790. Wytheville was of strategic importance during the Civil War, enduring attacks in 1863 (Toland’s Raid) and 1865 (Stoneman’s 1865 Raid). The town is also the birthplace of Edith Bolling Wilson, wife of President Woodrow Wilson.

Pulaski County

In the middle of nowhere, among the mountains, lakes, rivers and trails is somewhere. Named after Count Casimir Pulaski, who is credited with saving the life of George Washington more than two centuries ago, Pulaski County sits in the New River Valley teeming with natural beauty and bountiful history. The Pulaski County area of the Blue Ridge is defined by its rolling hills and settlement by small farmers. Formed in 1839 the county covers an area of about 330 square miles and is home to the 21-mile long, man-made, Claytor Lake on the New River.

Carroll County

Located in the heart of Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains, Carroll County offers an array of activities, scenery and deeply rooted Appalachian culture.Most visitors take time to visit one of the nation’s busiest National Parks, the Blue Ridge Parkway, the second oldest river in the world, the New River, or the rail-trail that parallels the river, the New River Trail.  The 469-mile Blue Ridge Parkway runs through the center of Carroll County with a major entrance and exit point located just 2 miles from Interstate 77 in Fancy Gap, Virginia at  Parkway Milepost 199.5 in Carroll County.

Stay in the Heart of the Park

Book Now